Beer Tasting at Pier 39

Pier 39 is an iconic San Francisco destination for tourists and locals alike. We dropped by for my Wife’s work holiday party in a restaurant at the end of the pier. Every shop on Pier 39 is done up with more kitch and neon than the eye can handle. Walking along feels a little like Main street at Disneyland-which I missed as a kid-so for me, this is that same part of my childhood- instead of Mickey I grew up feeding seagulls, barking at sea lions, and wandering the long gone arcade (it’s a Hard Rock Cafe these days.)
So despite the obviousness of the tourist trap, Pier 39 makes me smile. Not so much with the crowd at our party. It seemed like every one of the 1800-plus team members showed up. The line for the hosted bar was a mob scene and the buffet line stretched around the room. Somehow my wife got us a space near the front, but we were forced to stand and gulp down our food while eyeing the room for a spot to sit. It never materialized and we just stood awkwardly, jostled by servers and partygoers. After a handshake was spoiled by my greasy chicken wing fingers, I escaped the stuffy room to find a sink…what I found was solace.
I wandered about the deserted, well lit boardwalk following signs for the restroom, and stumbled in to the little bit of heaven you see pictured below. The true reason for this post is that, among all the glitz and facades, here is a legitimate beer bar, complete with a knowledgeable ale man and bunch of tatted up dollar bills acting as wallpaper.
Only one neighbor shared the bar, so it was the perfect respite for my over-stimulated sense of personal space. I chose the robust Full Boar scotch ale from Devil’s Canyon brewery and took great pleasure in savoring the rich cherry malt flavors. A few token tastes of IPA, some great SF native reminiscing, and I resumed my bathroom search. Finally, with clean hands, I returned to the fray-which had abated significantly. There, I submitted to the free bottles of Heineken and Sapporo to finish up the buzz I had built on such a solid foundation. Cheers, all, and may memory lane be good to you, wherever yours may be.

image

image

image

Leave a comment